login subscribe
Bowling’s digital daily newspaper delivering news, analysis and opinion.

The 11th Frame: How Matt McNiel made history at the Open Championships

JEFF RICHGELS | Posted: Sunday, April 29, 2012 9:00 pm

Clark Kent (aka Matt McNiel) is nearly working on an unfathomable all-events three-peat at the USBC Open Championships — winning in 2010 with a record 2,326 total, finishing third last year with 2,239 on a disappointing finish in singles, and taking the lead with 2,202 this weekend. Photo by United States Bowling Congress.
In the 109-year history of the United States Bowling Congress Open Championships (formerly the American Bowling Congress Tournament), no one has ever had a three-year run like what Matt McNiel capped off early Sunday at the Baton Rouge River Center. Only four bowlers have won the all-events twice, the most recent being Frank Santore in 1950 and 1953, according to USBC records. The others were Joe Wilman, Jimmy Smith and Barney Spinella.  Mike Rose Jr. won the title in 2007 with 2,198 and...

Login or Subscribeto read more