login subscribe
Bowling’s digital daily newspaper delivering news, analysis and opinion.

The 11th Frame: John Janawicz takes a giant step toward the USBC Hall of Fame

JEFF RICHGELS | Posted: Wednesday, April 3, 2013 9:00 pm

John Janawicz on Wednesday took the USBC Open Championships all-events lead with 2,169, edging Joe Keltner's 2,154. Photo by United States Bowling Congress.
In the 110-year history of the United States Bowling Congress Open Championships, only four bowlers have won the all-events title more than once. Matt McNiel won in 2010 and 2012, sandwiching a third-place finish in 2011. The likely future USBC Hall of Famer was the first to do it since 2013 USBC Hall of Fame inductee Frank Santore won in 1950 and 1953. USBC Hall of Famers Joe Wilman and Jimmy Smith were the others. It also nearly happened one other time in recent years when Mike Rose Jr. won...

Login or Subscribeto read more