login subscribe

The 11th Frame: Matt McNiel makes bowling history with 3rd all-events Eagle at Open Championships; Ronnie Sparks Jr., Mark Sleeper, Anthony Simonsen also win Eagles

JEFF RICHGELS | Posted: Saturday, July 11, 2015 4:15 pm

Matt McNiel this year became the first bowler to win three all-events Eagles at the ABC Tournament/USBC Open Championships. Photo by United States Bowling Congress.
Heading into the 112th year of the ABC Tournament/USBC Open Championships, no one had ever won three all-events Eagles. Matt McNiel came close with wins in 2010 in Reno and 2012 in Baton Rouge sandwiching a third-place finish in 2011. United States Bowling Congress Hall of Famers Frank Santore, Joe Wilman, Jimmy Smith and Barney Spinella were the only others to win it twice. McNiel now stands alone by capturing his third all-events Eagle with 2,265 on 727 in team, 734 in...

Login or Subscribeto read more