Bowling's digital daily newspaper delivering news, analysis and opinion.

Applications being accepted for 2018 PBA Billy Welu Scholarship

JEFF RICHGELS | Posted: Wednesday, May 9, 2018 12:00 pm

The PBA has announced that it has begun accepting applications for the 2018 PBA Billy Welu Scholarship Award recognizing exemplary qualities in college students who compete in bowling.

The scholarship awards $1,000 to the winner and was established to annually recognize a college student who combines outstanding bowling talents with academic excellence.

To be eligible, candidates must not be members of the PBA or PWBA and must be in college (preceding the application date) and maintaining at least a 2.5/4.0 GPA or equivalent. Applications must be postmarked by June 15.

The scholarship is named after the PBA Hall of Fame bowler who passed away in 1974 and was best known for his expert analysis alongside legendary ABC broadcaster and fellow Hall of Famer Chris Schenkel on the “Pro Bowlers Tour” series. Welu was a two-time PBA Tour champion and was a member of the PBA Hall of Fame’s inaugural induction class in 1975.

Additional information and the application is here.

Nominations can be emailed to scholarships@pba.com or sent through the mail to PBA Billy Welu Scholarship, 55 E. Jackson Blvd., Suite 401, Chicago, IL 60604.

2017 – Kristie Lopez (Wichita State)
2016 – Sydney Brummett (Wichita State)
2015 – Ramon Hilferink (Webber International)
2014 – Melanie Hannon (Fairleigh Dickinson)
2013 – Katie Thornton (Webber International)
2012 – Danielle McEwan (Fairleigh Dickinson)
2011 – Kristina Frahm (Maryland Eastern Shore)
2010 – Kim Yioulos (Pikeville)
2009 – Elizabeth Seibel (Penn State)
2008 – Heather D’Errico (Robert Morris-Illinois)
2007 – Ricki Williams (Wichita State)
2006 – Jerrod Reece (Creighton University)
2005 – Mandy Pezzano (U of Penn)
2004 – Holly Pusok (University of Houston)
2003 – Robby Spigner (Indiana University)
2002 – N/A
2001 – Jennie Snoddy (Notre Dame College of Ohio)
2000 – Jackie Edwards (Cal State-Fresno)
1999 – Steven Svetlik (University of Illinois-Chicago)
1998 – Nick Hoagland (Indiana University)
1997 – Preston Brunswig (Wichita State)
1996 – Brenda Dosher (University of Southern Indiana)
1995 – Michael Lamont (University of Florida)
1994 – Joe Ciccone (Erie Community College)
1993 – N/A
1992 – Stephen Dale Jr. (Northeastern University)
1991 – Kari Murph (Morehead State)
1990 – Kimberly Berke (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
1989 – Ronni Shehorn (San Jose State)
1988 – Julie Powell (University of Michigan)             
1987 – N/A
1986 – Paul Kaib (University of Florida)
1985 – Curt Pezzano (University of Miami (Fla))
1984 – Michelle Mullen (University of Illinois)
1983 – Jeri Edwards (Penn State)
1982 – Patricia Bowie (Arizona State)