Bowling's digital daily newspaper delivering news, analysis and opinion.

After 6 years, Badger Elite to return Sept. 28-29 with $2,000 guaranteed for first

JEFF RICHGELS | Posted: Thursday, September 26, 2019 12:30 pm
After 6 years, Badger Elite to return Sept. 28-29 with $2,000 guaranteed for first

Note: This story first posted on April 16, 2019 and has been updated with more details.

With the loss of sponsorship and the retirement of long-time Badger Elite and Central Wisconsin Scratch Bowlers Tour tournament director Dale Hackbart, the prestigious Badger Elite tournament was canceled in 2014.

Hackbart confirmed over the weekend that he would be returning to run the Badger Elite Sept. 28-29 at Dale’s Weston Lanes.

The Badger Elite will have an entry fee of $125 ($105 prize money, $20 bowling free) and top prizes of $2,500 and $1,500 based on 120 entries, and a 1-in-4 cashing ratio. The full prize list for 120 entries is in the entry blank PDF attached to the bottom of this story.

The format will feature eight games of qualifying on Saturday, with squads at noon and 4:30 p.m.

The top 20 based on 120 entries, or top 16 if 100 entries or less will return to bowl eight more games Sunday, using a bonus pin format similar to what we use with the 11thFrame.com Open: each game the top score will get 40 bonus pins, second 38, third 36, and so on. 

The top five totals for 16 games plus bonus pins will advance to the stepladder finals.

Update Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2019: The tournament has more than 40 bowlers committed but it will be a go no matter how many show up to compete, and thanks to the generosity of the village of Weston and the Central Wisconsin Convention and Visitors Bureau, there will be $2,000 guaranteed for first and $1,000 for second. Re-entries will be allowed on the 4:30 p.m. squad if there are open spots.

Update Thursday, Sept. 26, 2019: Dale Hackbart posted that 49 bowlers are signed up. With 64 entries, 16 will advance to Sunday and there will be these payouts: High over 50 or woman out of the money $125 and 3rd $800, 4th $700, 5th $600, 6th $550, 7th $500, 8th $480, 9th $460, 10th $440, 11th $400, 12th $380, 13th $360, 14th $340, 15th $320 and 16th $300. "I am calling out all bowlers and bowlers that are on staff positions that are not signed up you will not see a better prize fund in this state," Hackbart said.

Other sponsors include Dale’s Weston Lanes, Hermening Financial Ameriprise, Striking Edge Pro Shop, 11thFrame.com, and Storm Bowling Products.

The Badger Elite had a history of being a major grindout tournament that drew most of Wisconsin’s top bowlers, as well as a few from surrounding states. It was a taxing but fun challenge with a solid field. 

The 2019 Badger Elite will feature the difficult Kegel Sphinx lane pattern, but it might not be quite the grind it was since Weston Lanes was leveled last year, as I detailed in this story.

Sphinx is a 40-foot symmetrical pattern with 25.2 mL of oil, and ratios of 2-1 middle-outside track, 1.43-1 middle-middle track, and 1-1 middle-inside track.

The tournament's Facebook page is here

Update Monday, Sept. 23, 2019: 
Here is the tournament roster as of Sept. 22. We are less than a week away from the tournament. This tournament is going to run! We will accept walk ins the day of the tournament, but would prefer sign ups. It will make the tournament run that much smoother. There is quite a bit of prize money donated by our sponsors, so it will be worth it to bowl this tournament. Please feel free to share this. Any questions contact Dale Hackbart or Scott Fenske. Thank You.
Bryan Bannach
Chris Kurensky
Tim Janz
Todd Fenske
Nick Plouff
Seth Sikkema
Bryan Maier
Mike Broucier
Ryan Bouffiou
Cody Roedner
Ron Wallenkamp JR
Dan Bourassa
Nathan Becher
Brian Mattmiller
Justin Petrey
Doug Forde
Tim Walter
Steve Brinkman
Randy Leszczynski
Rob Warren
Mike Gunderson
Dan Williams
Victor Cortez
Tim Springstroh
Nick Heitpas
Austin Eswein
Jared Elliott
Dan Wililson

4:30 PM
Jon Schalow
Brad Cieslewicz
Stephanie Cieslewicz
Jack Bruner
Jeff Richgels
Scott Bahrke
Lyly Kuhlmann
Ben Hafeman
Ken Kempf
Kevin Hermening
Brett Clifford
Alex Leeman
Chris Van Akkeren
Josh Schultz
Russel Gahagan