Bowling's digital daily newspaper delivering news, analysis and opinion.

2024 Prairie Open Over 40 3-Person tourney set for Saturday, Jan. 27

JEFF RICHGELS | Posted: Thursday, December 7, 2023 5:00 am
2024 Prairie Open Over 40 3-Person tourney set for Saturday, Jan. 27

The popular Prairie Open Over 40 3-Person scratch tournament at Prairie Lanes in Sun Prairie is set for Saturday, Jan. 27.

The tournament, which is open only to bowlers 40 and older, was started by Tim Sullivan, with the help of Mark Henry and Lowell Maves, and originally was called Sully's 40 and Over Tournament, although it was commonly known as the Over 40 Henry Hitter for its similarity to the popular Henry Hitter 3-Man Tournament. 

The entry fee is $225 per team, with $183 to the prize fund and $42 to expenses. The entry fee was $210 last year, and all of the increase is going to the prize fund.

The format is four games of qualifying, with the top eight teams advancing to match play, based on a full field of 28 teams, which pretty much is a given. The tournament is contested on a house shot.

Practice is at 11:45 a.m. and the tournament starts at noon.

The winner earns $1,800, second $930, third and fourth $540 each, and fifth through eighth $330 each.

Call Prairie at 608-837-2586 to sign up.

The entry flyer is attached to this story as a PDF.

Ten Pin Alley — Chris Pounders, Tim Janz, and Derek Eoff — won the title in 2022.

Barney Bombs — Mike Hoffman, Rick Thomas and Ron Blanchar — won the title in 2021

Lake Ripley’s Lanes — Jeremy Porter, Brian Hoffman and Chad Kloss — won the title in 2020.

Woodruff Lanes — Kyle Blaese, Russ Smith and Nick Plouff — won the title in 2019

Bluemound Bowl — Hank Posnanski, Gus Yannaras and Chad Kloss — won the title in 2018.