Bowling’s digital daily newspaper delivering news, analysis and opinion.

Aiming for history at the Open Championships

JEFF RICHGELS | Posted: Monday, May 14, 2012 6:30 am
Our Turbo 2-N-1 Grips team after taking the lead at the 2011 Open Championships. Photo by United States Bowling Congress.
In the 109-year history of the American Bowling Congress Tournament/United States Bowling Congress Open Championships, just one team has won consecutive team titles. The Detroit team known as E&B Beer in 1952 and Pfeiffer Beer in 1953 won the titles with 3,115 and 3,181, respectively. However, the team included only four of the five same bowlers both years, according to USBC records. Pfeiffer Beer won the team title again in 1955 with three of the same bowlers — Lou Sielaff, Fred...