login subscribe


The 11th Frame: Big Brothers Big Sisters of Dane County prepping for annual Bowl for Kids Sake fundraiser in early May

JEFF RICHGELS | Posted: Thursday, March 12, 2015 4:00 am

One of the best known bowling fundraisers locally is Big Brothers Big Sisters of Dane County’s annual Bowl for Kids Sake.

The organization is preparing now for the event, which will be held in early May.

The official Kickoff Party is Wednesday, March 25 at Village Lanes in Monona. Everyone is invited and there will be free food, drinks and bowling.

The BBBS Bowl for Kids Sake Facebook page is here.

Jonathan Schalow, a top local scratch bowler who is involved in running the Frequency Bowlers Tour, is serving on the planning committee this year and reached out to me for some publicity, which I am happy to provide.

“I served as a Loaned Executive for the United Way of Dane County a few months ago,” Schalow, who works in banking, said in an email. “During my tenure at United Way I was introduced to the Big Brothers Big Sisters organization. My knowledge of the bowling community met my passion for philanthropy and I joined the Bowl For Kids’ Sake planning committee.”

The group’s goal this year is 300 teams, Schalow said, adding that if each team raises $1,000 it will enable BBBS to support matches for 300 children in Dane County.

I’ve attached the BBBS flyers as PDFs to the end of this blog to provide details on the event.

Here are the centers, dates and times for BBBS squads:

Bowl-A-Vard Lanes
Wednesday, April 29 at 7 p.m.
Thursday, April 30 at 7 p.m.
Friday, May 1 at 3 p.m.
Friday, May 1 at 7 p.m.

Schwoegler's Entertainment Center
Thursday, April 30 at 7 p.m.
Thursday, May 7 at 7 p.m.

Ten Pin Alley (Fitchburg)
Saturday, May 2 at 11 a.m.
Monday, May 4 at 6 p.m.
Thursday, May 7 at 7 p.m.
Friday, May 8 at 7 p.m.

Prairie Lanes (Sun Prairie)
Thursday, May 7 at 7 p.m.

Village Lanes (Monona)
Thursday, May 14 at 7 p.m.